Oregon

Disorderly conduct may be a common charge in Oregon, but this doesn’t mean it’s a minor charge. Any time you face a jail sentence is time to take things seriously. Because Oregon’s disorderly conduct laws are so broad, they are often open to interpretation by the officer at the scene of the arrest. Determining that your actions constitute a crime is up to the police and often their point of view is far different from your own.

Disorderly Conduct Charge? Call (800) 949-1736.
call_now

We commonly see disorderly conduct charges levied in large groups of people where the police try to maintain control. This could be at a party or after a major sporting event. When the police determine your behavior is causing a public inconvenience or otherwise breaching the peace, you can be arrested and charged.

Oregon Disorderly Conduct Laws

In Oregon, disorderly conduct is classified as either first degree or second degree.

Second Degree Disorderly Conduct

The vast majority of disorderly conduct charges are classified as a 2nd degree offense. This is a Class B Misdemeanor, which carries up to 6 months in jail and $2,500 in fines. If you are suspected of causing public inconvenience, annoyance, or alarm or even merely creating a risk of those things by doing one of the following, you could face this charge.

  1. Disturbing a lawful assembly,
  2. Making unreasonable noise,
  3. Fighting or engaging in violent or threatening behavior,
  4. Obstructing traffic in public,
  5. Fighting or engaging in violent or threatening behavior,
  6. Initiating or circulating a false report concerning fire, explosion, or other emergency,
  7. Congregating with other people in public and refusing a police order to disperse,
  8. Creating a hazardous or physically offensive condition by any act which you are not privileged to do.

First Degree Disorderly Conduct

Disorderly conduct in the 1st degree is far more serious. This offense is classified as a Class A Misdemeanor and carries up to 1 year in jail and $6,250 in fines. You could be charged with this elevated offense if you:

  1.  acted with the intent to cause public inconvenience, annoyance or alarm, or
  2. if you created the risk of annoyance or alarm by initiating or circulating a false report of hazardous substance or impending explosion.

No matter which disorderly conduct charge you face, you are facing the possibility of jail time and a criminal record. We can put you in touch with a local defense lawyer who may be able to help. Contact us today.

Be Sociable, Share!

About Dave Matson

https://plus.google.com/111626591184353506175/about